- Home
- Audiobook Apps
- Prologue
Prologue
What it is
Prologue is a self-hosted audiobook player that connects to Plex, Audiobookshelf, or both. Its library tools include offline downloads, collections, series, bookmarks, a reading list, stats, and playback history. Listening controls include per-book settings, sleep timers, smart rewind after pauses, Voice Boost, and an equalizer. The maker lists iPhone, iPad, and Apple Watch support, along with Siri, widgets, and CarPlay. On Apple Watch, listeners can stream books they are reading or have added to the reading list, download books for offline listening, and use widgets and complications. Prologue says library data is stored on users’ devices, and that it does not store or handle Plex or Audiobookshelf passwords; access tokens are stored on-device. It collects pseudonymous usage data and Apple Ads attribution information. Crash reports use Sentry and may include device and operating-system information, app version, and a Sentry installation ID. The app is listed as free, with in-app purchases available. Prologue for Apple Watch is $4.99, paid once; Premium is $9.99, paid once; Premium (Family Upgrade) is $7.99, paid once; and Premium (Family) is $17.99, paid once. The App Store listing requires iOS 26.5 or later.
For and against
For
- Connects to Plex, Audiobookshelf, or both.
- Supports offline listening and library organization.
- Offers playback controls including sleep timers and an equalizer.
- Apple Watch supports streaming and offline downloads.
- Library data and access tokens are stored on-device.
Against
- Requires iOS 26.5 or later.
- Collects pseudonymous usage and Apple Ads attribution data.
- Uses Sentry crash reporting that may include device details.
- In-app purchases are available.
The verdict
Prologue brings library management, offline listening, and playback controls to Plex and Audiobookshelf users in an Apple-focused app. Review the iOS requirement and listed in-app purchase options before choosing it.
Who it suits
Prologue suits audiobook listeners with a Plex or Audiobookshelf library who want listening and library tools across Apple devices. The listed iOS requirement and the available Apple Watch purchase may matter when choosing it.
Plans and prices
Free
App listed as free; in-app purchases available
Read 9 Oct 2026 · apps.apple.com
Prologue for Apple Watch
In-app purchase
Read 9 Oct 2026 · apps.apple.com
Premium (Family Upgrade)
In-app purchase; billing period not stated
Read 9 Oct 2026 · apps.apple.com
Premium
In-app purchase; billing period not stated
Read 9 Oct 2026 · apps.apple.com
Premium (Family)
In-app purchase; billing period not stated
Read 9 Oct 2026 · apps.apple.com
On the record
- Analytics
- Prologue says it collects pseudonymous usage data and Apple Ads attribution information, but not Plex or Audiobookshelf credentials.prologue.audio · read 9 Oct 2026
- Apple features
- The maker lists iPhone, iPad, and Apple Watch support, plus Siri, widgets, and CarPlay.prologue.audio · read 9 Oct 2026
- Crash reporting
- The app uses Sentry for crash reporting, which may include device and operating-system information, app version, and a Sentry installation ID.prologue.audio · read 9 Oct 2026
- Credentials
- The maker says it does not store or handle Plex or Audiobookshelf passwords; access tokens are stored on-device.prologue.audio · read 9 Oct 2026
- Integrations
- The app lists Plex and Audiobookshelf as supported library servers.prologue.audio · read 9 Oct 2026
- Library features
- It connects to Plex, Audiobookshelf, or both, and includes offline downloads, collections, series, bookmarks, a reading list, stats, and playback history.prologue.audio · read 9 Oct 2026
- Platform requirement
- The App Store listing says the app requires iOS 26.5 or later and lists iPad, Mac with Apple M1 or later, Apple Vision, and Apple Watch compatibility.apps.apple.com · read 9 Oct 2026
- Playback features
- Playback options include per-book settings, sleep timers, smart rewind after pauses, Voice Boost, and an equalizer.prologue.audio · read 9 Oct 2026
- Privacy
- Prologue says library data is stored on users’ devices and it does not store library data on its servers.prologue.audio · read 9 Oct 2026
- Product
- Prologue is a self-hosted audiobook player for Plex and Audiobookshelf.prologue.audio · read 9 Oct 2026
- Support
- The maker directs users to report issues or get in touch from its release page.prologue.audio · read 9 Oct 2026
- Watch playback
- The Apple Watch app can stream books being read or in the reading list, download books for offline listening, and use widgets and complications.prologue.audio · read 9 Oct 2026